Omertà : Album Review

What happens when you take elements of Dream Theatre, Symphony-X and Disturbed, throw them all into a blender and then add the blazing guitar of a true genius of his instrument?

You get: Adrenaline Mob.

Consisting of drummer Mike Portnoy, vocalist Russell Allen, guitarist Mike Orlando and newcomer, bassist John Moyer, Adrenaline Mob continues to build upon the success that started last summer with the release of their self-titled EP.

Fans who may have missed out before will be pleased to discover that four of the songs from that record also appear on the band’s soon to be released full-length album, Omertà.

Produced by the Mob themselves and mixed by Jay Ruston, well-known for his work with Anthrax and Steel Panther, Omertà disproves the old adage that metal albums are made to just melt faces (although, let’s face it, there’s nothing wrong with that). The truth is though, it’s always been the songwriting and the sound that matters most and on both counts Omertà delivers the goods.

From the first few bars of the in your face intro of “Undaunted” I found myself once again asking the question: “How the hell do these guys sound so damn good?” It’s inhuman. They make it look so easy. And the best part of it all is: it’s actually THEM playing and singing. Not just another studio trick that record companies have been spoon-feeding the masses for years.

I mean lets face it, these guys are real musicians. Ones who have spent years honing their craft. Musicians similar to the greats I idolized growing up and ones who will now carry the torch on to the next generation of metal heads.

In addition to the songs from the original EP, here are a few more highlights from Omertà:

Indifferent is a song about self-reflection. One that is radio ready and a song that I can already picture blaring from my car speakers on hot summer nights.

I never thought you’d hear me say, “I’m better now, so I don’t need your sympathy.”

All On The Line nicely mixes things up with Russell Allen’s crisp vocals and an acoustic guitar intro delivering the message before kicking things back up.

I don’t wanna wake up and make the same mistakes.
It happens to me all the time.

For the metal head purists, the groove on Feelin’ Me is infectious and will keep your fists pumping for a long time.

One of the real gems on Omertà is the band’s version of the song Come Undone. That’s right, you read that correctly: a Duran Duran cover!  Something die-hard metal fans might consider “blasphemy” but in reality is actually just another example of how music has universal appeal. The song also features a guest vocal performance by Lzzy Hale of Halestorm – Genius!

Omertà is the next chapter in the story of Adrenaline Mob and coincidentally ends with the blazing song Freight Train, a cacophony of guitars and drums complete with real engine sounds.

Which makes me so glad I’m along for the ride.

Check it out!

Omertà Track Listing:

1. Undaunted
2. Psychosane
3. Indifferent
4. All On The Line
5. Hit the Wall
6. Feelin’ Me
7. Come Undone
8. Believe Me
9. Down To The Floor
10. Angel Sky
11. Freight Train

For more information on Adrenaline Mob check out:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s